Bible Craftsmanship Conference

August 27, 2022
Bible Craftsmanship Conference

Museum of the Bible is proud to announce the founding of the Society of Bible Craftsmanship (SOBC). 

The Society of Bible Craftsmanship celebrates beauty, creativity, and innovation in the field of Bible publishing. The society’s mission is to nurture and highlight excellence in the industry and to help the general reader discover and appreciate all that goes into the finest examples of Bible craftsmanship—in all languages, in all media.  

A central task of the society will be to periodically gather and exhibit new Bible publications from around the world. The society’s awards program will recognize the finest work in a broad range of categories, with winners exhibited at Museum of the Bible in Washington, DC. 

The Bible is one of the most important books ever to be published and also one of the most challenging in terms of design and production. Today, the innovation displayed in meeting these challenges is at an all-time high. In partnership with publishers and industry professionals, the society will host events and virtual seminars though Museum of the Bible to explore every aspect of craftsmanship, illuminating the work of translators and editors, designers and typographers, printers and bookbinders, and many other contributors to the production process. The society’s e-newsletter will also showcase the best writing on Bible craftsmanship. 

Museum of the Bible hopes, through the Society of Bible Craftsmanship, to promote the flourishing of contemporary Bible publishing and reading. 

Registration to join the Society of Bible Craftsmanship will open following the official launching of the society on August 27, 2022, at the Bible Craftsmanship Conference at Museum of the Bible in Washington, DC.

Aug 27, 2022 - Aug 27, 2022
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM EDT
The Gathering Room
In Person $17.99
Members $9.99
Students $9.99
Virtual $9.99
Virtual Members $4.99
Virtual Students $4.99
In Person Event
Virtual Event

Select Calendar Type:

Get Tickets

All Day
Exhibition of super-sized Gustave Doré artwork and the Cambridge Family Chronicle Bible

10:00 a.m.
Tours with an emphasis on the different designs and styles popular in Bibles over time

10:00 a.m.
Family activities at the Education Station

1:00 p.m.
Welcome by Dr. Jeff Kloha, Chief Curatorial Officer

1:15 p.m.
Lecture by Klaus Krogh, “Cave Paintings Evolving into Letterforms”

2:00 p.m.
Presentation of The Comfort Print Story, a book about seven typeface families designed specifically for Bible translations

2:15 p.m.
Lecture by David Price, “The Word Made Image: Bible Design in the Reformation”

3:05 p.m.
Intermission

3:20 p.m.
Lecture by J. Mark Bertrand, "Curating the Future of Bible Design"

4:10 p.m.
Introduction of The Society of Bible Craftsmanship, with a panel discussion led by Jeff Kloha

Speakers

Klaus Krogh

Klaus Krogh is the president and chief executive officer of 2K/DENMARK, which was founded in 1987 as 2Krogh, a graphic design company that took its name from founders Liv and Klaus Krogh. For its 25th anniversary in 2012, they changed the name to 2K/DENMARK. 

The company provides a range of services, working with publishers around the world. It focuses on typeface design, book design, and typesetting of complex texts, among which the Bible holds a prominent position. 

David H. Price

David H. Price, professor of Jewish studies, religious studies, history, and art history at Vanderbilt University, specializes in early modern European history. He has written extensively on a broad range of topics, including the Bible in the Reformation era, Christian-Jewish relations, Renaissance visual art, early modern literature, and the history of books and printing. His recent books include, In the Beginning Was the Image: Art and the Reformation Bible and Johannes Reuchlin and the Campaign to Destroy Jewish Books, both published by Oxford University Press.

Before joining the Vanderbilt faculty in 2016, he served as a professor at Yale University, the University of Texas at Austin, Southern Methodist University, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His teaching focuses on general European history, 1400–1789, the history of art (Italian and northern Renaissance), printed art, Christian-Jewish relations, the history of Christianity, and Jewish and Christian Bibles through the ages.

J. Mark Bertrand

J. Mark Bertrand is a novelist and pastor whose writing on Bible design has helped spark a publishing revolution. Mark is the author of Rethinking Worldview: Learning to Think, Live, and Speak in This World (Crossway, 2007), as well as the novels Back on MurderPattern of Wounds, and Nothing to Hide — described as a “series worth getting attached to” (Christianity Today) by “a major crime fiction talent” (Weekly Standard) in the vein of Michael Connelly, Ian Rankin, and Henning Mankell. 

Mark has a BA in English literature from Union University, an MFA in creative writing from the University of Houston, and an MDiv from Heidelberg Theological Seminary. Through his influential Bible Design Blog, Mark has championed a new generation of readable Bibles. His work was featured in the November 2021 issue of FaithLife’s Bible Study Magazine. Since 2017, Mark has been an ordained teaching elder in the Presbyterian Church in America. He and his wife, Laurie, life in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Jeff Kloha, Chief Curatorial Officer of Museum of the Bible

Jeff Kloha

Jeffrey Kloha manages the Museum of the Bible Education, Scholars Initiative, Exhibits, Curatorial, and Collections departments and is responsible for executing those departments’ strategic plans.

Jeff previously served 18 years as a professor of New Testament at Concordia Seminary in St. Louis, and also served Concordia as provost/chief academic officer. He earned the PhD from the University of Leeds. His areas of teaching and research include the textual and canonical history of the early Christian writings, hermeneutics, and the Pauline Epistles. He is a frequent conference presenter, radio guest, and television documentary commentator.

Get Tickets

Event Sponsor

Want to be notified on new upcoming events? Sign up for our weekly updates!

Subscribe